Monthly Foundation Update: March 2020

The Foundation Board Meeting was held on March 20 via Zoom. There are lots of exciting things coming up for ND FFA, make sure check out our website to stay up-to-date on all things ND FFA Foundation related!

Jenny Vandehoven and the Medina FFA Alumni and Supporters Chapter were awarded a $5,000 grant from National FFA. The grant will support the purchase of Blue Jackets, SAE grants, senior scholarships, affiliation fees, lab aids and more. To read more about it, click here. Congrats, Jenny!

Winter CDE’s that were scheduled to take place in Minot on March 23rd were postponed, as was the ND State Horse Judging event, due to Coronavirus concerns/precautions. Follow ND FFA announcements for further details.

SAE grant recipients were rewarded with a $1,000 grant from the ND FFA Foundation to support a current project or to help start a new one. There were 21 recipients (9 beginning SAE grants and 12 expansion SAE grants) selected this year out of 131 applications. To read more about this, click here. Additonally, 5 North Dakota FFA members received $1,000 grant from National FFA. Thanks to all those who applied, and congrats to our State recipients:

Allee Boyer – Edgeley Kulm
Benjamin Lindbo – South Prairie
Caleb Woodrow – Munich
Calli Mack – Medina
Chance Manhart – Golden Valley County
Christy Finck – Grant County
Emily Carlson – Medina
Ethan Schaffner – Napoleon
Halle Sorenson – Stanley
Jacob Kramer – Max
Joseph Schaefer – Oakes
Kaden Schauer – Hettinger
Kaitlyn Bartholmy – Scranton
Kaje Gudmestad – Medina
Karlee Sailer – Beulah
Kaylee Kinsey – Bowman County
Lara Lane – Stanley
Logan Lapica – Stanley
Trenton Erbele – Napoleon
Tyler Thompson – Oakes
Wyatt Kersten – Max

And our National SAE Grant recipients:

Benjamin Scheresky – Max
Colt Kersten – Max
Emily Fannik – Max
Shelsey Brandvold – Max
Tyler Moos – Napoleon

Left to right: Mikayla Wolfe (Tioga), Anna Stoppleworth (Kindred), Ethan Schaffner (Napoleon), Trenton Erbele (Napoleon) and Ben Van Berkom (Des Lacs-Burlington)

Ten College Scholarship recipients were selected to receive $1,000 scholarship from the ND FFA Foundation plus an additional two were selected and received $1,000 from Al Giese and ND Community Foundation. Thanks to Allen and Pat Giese for your generosity and support of ND youth. Congrats to these 12 recipients:

Bethany Anderson – Harvey
Chase Bader – Wishek
Christina Bingham – Max
Kourtney Bitz – Napoleon
Caleb Hauck – Oakes
Calli Hauck – Oakes
Carson Houser – McClusky
Shelby Meckle – Center
Megan Rodine – Oakes
Grant Schneider – Ashley
Jewelia Siegler – Wahpeton
Ben Van Berkom – Des Lacs-Burlington

Tommy spoke on Ag News 890 with Mick Kjar about the ND FFA Foundation and how important it is to keep ND FFA in mind during these unusual times. Click here to listen to the radio interview. Thanks to the Mick and the Ag News team for welcoming Tommy onto your show!

On March 24th, our great state celebrated North Dakota Ag Day. This day took on extra meaning this year, due to the current environment and uncertainty associated with Coronavirus concerns. It is during times like these that we can reflect upon the importance of agriculture. We are so lucky to have such strong agriculture in our state (and nation) that allows for us to have food readily available during such trying times. Thanks to all the men and women involved in agriculture who continue to work so hard to provide others with this comfort.